Meet Our Team

While other pet sitters only have 1 employee we have several. This allows us to not miss pet sitting visits if one of us takes a vacation, is sick, or hospitalized. Our competitors simply do not have this level of protection for their clients.

Service Area:


Chester Johnson

  • Favorite Dog: Bernese Mountain Dog
  • Favorite Cat: Tuxedo
  • Current Pets: Token the Chow, Aussie the Catahoula, multiple fish tanks
  • Hobbies & Interests: Bowling, Golfing, and Gardening
  • Favorite Movie: Ghostbusters
  • Favorite Book: Jurassic Park

Position: Owner/Operator
Bio: Raised in a 2 dog household in Texas, Chester grew up loving animals. Once older he was not given an allowance, but was paid $5 a week to mow the lawn for his parents. He would save his money every week and spend his money at the pet store on supplies for his beloved pets. His love for animals quickly spread, and he was offered pet sitting jobs at a young age for neighbors. Coming from a long line of animal lovers and activists including a grandfather who was a Veterinarian and a grandmother who was the president of the Denton Humane Society for many years, Chester always knew he wanted to work with animals. His dreams finally came to fruition once he created Cozy Canine. He continues to work tirelessly to ensure every customer and their pets are treated with love, passion, and respect. He believes strongly in the foundation of taking care of the customer first, and his business decisions will continue to reflect this. Unlike many owners he comes in contact with he does not sit in an office and hope the business runs itself. He plays an active role in the business and still pet sits every week.

Lisa Johnson

  • Favorite Dog: Siberian Husky
  • Favorite Cat: Tiger Striped
  • Current Pets: Token the Chow, Aussie the Catahoula
  • Hobbies & Interests: Quilting, Sewing, and overall crafts in general
  • Favorite Movie: Silence of the Lambs
  • Favorite Book: Stephen Kings Dark Tower Series

Position: Co-Owner/Field Manager
Bio: Growing up in Corning, New York Lisa loved the cats in her home. She quickly became interested in all of the animals in nature. She began earning extra money as a baby sitter as most young girls do. She learned the value of working hard early on having a paper route in the snow and ice with only her bicycle. When she moved to Texas and started going to college she got her first dog by rescuing him off the street. He was forever grateful to her, and she was forever grateful for his companionship. After meeting, dating, and eventually marrying Chester, her passion for animals came to full circle as he began to have ideas to start a business. She has since been a valuable asset to the Cozy Canine Team. Her current responsibilities include full time pet sitting and as field manager she also makes sure all pet sitting by any of the team members is upheld to the company’s high standards of excellence.


  • Favorite Dog: Lab
  • Favorite Cat: Gray Striped
  • Current Pets: 2 rescue dogs;Misti a shepherd mix and Sunny a very large lab mix
  • Hobbies & Interests: long walks with my dogs and spending time with my grandkids and reading
  • Favorite Movie: The Help
  • Favorite Book: To Kill A Mockingbird

Position: Pet Sitter
Bio: I grew up in a small town in East Texas and have had various pets throughout my life, always including but not excluded to at least one dog. I have lived in the DFW metroplex all my adult life. And I just retired from UPS after 27 years. I am really excited about entering the next phase of my life with Cozy Canine. I do some volunteer work with PAWS, which I find very rewarding. I have 5 grown children and 8 grand-children who I enjoy spending time with as well as my husband, Jeff. Saving and loving animals is a priority for all my family. At family get togethers, sometimes the pets outnumber the people.


  • Favorite Dog: I love all kinds.
  • Favorite Cat: Haven't met one I didn't like; may have a preference for Maine Coons.
  • Current Pets: (2) gray tabbies; sisters from a litter of eight we rescued and hand-raised, a Maine coon, (2) Chihuahua sisters, and a Pom-huahua.
  • Hobbies & Interests: Cooking, photography, crocheting, and animals
  • Favorite Movie: The Help
  • Favorite Book: Pillars of the Earth

Position: Pet Sitter
Bio: Deitra (Dee) was born in Soda Springs, ID. She moved to CO when she was seven and lived there until she was 38, at which time she made her way to TX. Animals have been a part of Dee's life since she was born. She has had everything as small as guppies, to snakes and frogs, spiny mice, ferrets and chinchillas, cats, and dogs. She also lived on a farm adding to her love of animals she had over 100 chickens, Pygmy goats, geese and ducks, a bottle fed calf who lived in the mud room, as well as horses. Animals are definitely in her blood. When Dee and her children are able, they are a foster home for MN Pit Rescue, as well as being a foster for babies without mothers. Animals are truly a rewarding a huge part of her life.


  • Favorite Dog: Maltese!
  • Favorite Cat: Birman
  • Current Pets: August Maximus AKA Gus 11yr Old Maltese, Dexter Farnsworth 4yr old Maltese
  • Hobbies & Interests: I love to play games (table top and pc), travel, swim, boating, and keep my nieces and nephews.
  • Favorite Movie: Fight Club
  • Favorite Book: Harry Potter Series

Position: Pet Sitter
Bio: I grew up in a small town in East Texas called Cooper. My rural little town had a lot of stray pets, and I was that kid who brought home every dog she found home, and begged to keep them. Normally I wasn't allowed to keep them, but I sure tried. I tried to move out of my beloved Texas when I was 20 to find my own life, instead, I found out that I love Texas. On my way home, we met a nice lady in a restroom with a 8yo Maltese named Buffy. The lady was was upset because she was heading to turn her puppy into the ASPCA, we instead talked her into giving us Buffy, and thus my love for Maltese began. Once back in Texas, I did some more college and decided to move to McKinney, where I started my career in Telecom. I'm all about serving others, so I was a natural at my job. Over the years I went to another really big telecom company. While I worked there, I met my husband, on World of Warcraft, and convinced him Texas was the place to be! We bought a house and settled down in Prosper. After sweet Buffy died, my dad bought Gus. I happened to be home in Cooper, the weekend dad brought him home and immediately Gus was really my dog. H Once I had bought my house, Dad could no longer take care of Gus so he asked if Gus could stay with us, and since he was really my dog anyways, he moved in with us. I felt bad that Gus had to be home all the time with out anyone so we got Dexter to be his buddy. Thus we have our lil family.


  • Favorite Dog: Rottweiler
  • Favorite Cat: Lynx Point Siamese
  • Current Pets: Libby - German Shepherd, Casper - Lynx Point, Cleo - domestic shorthair, Spike & Daffy - hermit crabs
  • Hobbies & Interests: reading/audio books/podcasts, gardening, fitness
  • Favorite Movie: Sweet Home Alabama
  • Favorite Book: Harry Potter Series

Position: Pet Sitter
Bio: I was born and raised in Michigan. My entire family still resides there, and it makes a great vacation spot to beat the Texas summer heat! I married my high school sweetheart and we have 4 human kids, 3 fur kids, and 2 shell kids! We adopted our German Shepherd from a police dog breeder in Ohio. We planned to train her to be a working dog, but soon realized that small kids didn't allow us the time required for that type of training. She is a great family pet, though, and my kids love her to pieces! I had always considered myself a dog person... until we rescued a cat for my daughter's birthday a few years ago! Shortly after her cat joined our family, I went out and adopted another cat for myself! The unconditional love and companionship our pets offer us is worth all the fur tumble-weeds that are constantly rolling around on our floors!


  • Favorite Dog: Mine
  • Favorite Cat: Mine
  • Current Pets: Oakley (mixed Staffordshire) born in Spring 2007 Dobby (Crested Gecko) received as a gift Dec 1, 2015 as Dobby was already 1.5 years old at that time.
  • Hobbies & Interests: Nature Walks, Biking, Fishing, Bowling, Trail Riding & Crafts.
  • Favorite Movie: O'Brother Where Art Thou
  • Favorite Book: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Position: Pet Sitter
Bio: Born in South Louisiana during crawfish season, which by the way is my FAVORITE seafood of all time (Blue crabs too), I was raised with several different rescue pets. As I got older, I took a liking to fish in which I currently have 5 tanks. My cat has seen the world. Adopted in year 2000, with a birth year of 1998, the shelter named him Arnold, and he was found in the engine of a vehicle. I renamed him Garfield. He had everything you could possibly imagine as an illness, but with a little love, he recovered just fine. Garfield has lived in three states, he is quite the well-traveled cat! A few months down the road I rescued my spoiled rotten Oakley in May 2007 as an abused puppy. He's lived with me since I moved to the Dallas area and has became best friends with Garfield. They are now inseparable! Rescue pets rock! Once I came across Cozy Canine, I jumped in with both feet as I enjoy loving on animals; they are filled with such love to give in return.